Call for applications for the new "Link" grants offered by the Faculty of Science to support short-term visits from early career scientists

Funding for three mini-fellowships of approximately 10'000 CHF per year are available. The aim is to fund short research stays of early career scientists (PhDs, Postdocs) from the countries listed below at groups of the Faculty of Science. The fellowship will contribute towards travel costs and accommodation costs. A maximum amount of $^{\sim}10'000$ CHF can be requested for a 3-month visit. Support for shorter visits may also be requested (min. stay of 2 weeks) and the requested amount would be reduced proportionally.

Organizational aspects:

The host can be any member of the faculty and the Oberer Mittelbau (lecturers). The host is responsible for all administrative aspects (visa application, insurance, ...). The faculty will transfer the fellowship in the form of BK (a lump sum) to the host.

Project report:

A short project report (50 -100 words) plus a picture of the visiting scientist (or from field work etc.) to be published on the faculty website is required by the end of the project.

Application deadline is 31 January 2021

Application documents:

CV of the fellowship holder

Support letter by the host (1 page)

A short description of the planed scientific exchange (1 page)

A short budget and request for a lump sum

A short description of planned outreach (e.g., colloquium presentation, blog, webinar, ...)

All documents should be submitted as PDFs to Claudia Scherrer (claudia.scherrer@natdek.unibe.ch) by Email until 31 January 2021.

For questions please contact Olivia Romppainen (olivia.martius@giub.unibe.ch).

Selection criteria:

- 1) Visiting early career scientist is from a Spirit country or additional countries on the list
- 2) Research statement + letter of support by the host
- 3) Outreach activities
- 4) Department and Institute (preference will be given by rotation)
- 5) Preference is given to women if a decision has to be made between to equally qualified candidates

Eligible countries

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde,

Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Congo, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Mongolia, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, West Bank and Gaza Strip, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe are eligible as partner countries + India, Vietnam, Brazil + more on your request.